Lou Reed on Yeezus

Não é sobre cinema, nem consigo dizer exatamente o porquê, mas me parece uma resenha com coisas interessantes sobre um disco que é um troço interessante.

O essencial – som, ritmo, harmonia; enfim, a forma – e o espetáculo.

http://thetalkhouse.com/reviews/view/lou-reed

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Why he starts the album off with that typical synth buzzsaw sound is beyond me, but what a sound it is, all gussied up and processed. I can’t figure out why he would do that. It’s like farting. It’s another dare – I dare you to like this. Very perverse.

(…)

When I did Metal Machine Music, New York Times critic John Rockwell said, “This is really challenging.” I never thought of it like that. I thought of it like, “Wow, if you like guitars, this is pure guitar, from beginning to end, in all its variations. And you’re not stuck to one beat.” That’s what I thought. Not, “I’m going to challenge you to listen to something I made.” I don’t think West means that for a second, either. You make stuff because it’s what you do and you love it.

(…)

Sometimes it’s like a synth orchestra. I’ve never heard anything like it – I’ve heard people try to do it but it just comes out tacky. Kanye is there. It’s like his video for Runaway, with the ballet dancers – it was like, look out, this guy is making connections. You could bring one into the other – ballet into hip-hop – they’re not actually contradictory, and he knew that, he could see it immediately. He obviously can hear that all styles are the same, somewhere deep in their heart, there’s a connection. It’s all the same shit, it’s all music

Deixe um comentário

